Altpapier (aka “used paper”)

Introduction

Read news from 100 years ago. With this app you can discover random newspaper articles from the days before yesterday. Find your favourites, such as quirky anecdotes, old personal ads or local phenomena.

The Altpapier (aka “used paper”) app brings the most exciting and unusual newspaper reports from the beginning of the 20th century to your smartphone. The app accesses digitized historical newspapers from Berlin State Library and makes them available via a modern news app. The app offers various feeds; individual articles are displayed with the date, the name of the newspaper, the headline and the actual news item.

This app was created during the event Coding Da Vinci Berlin 2017. The aim of the application is to make digitized historical newspaper articles easily accessible for users. In cooperation with Berlin State Library, digitized newspaper articles were integrated into an Android app.

Links

Altpapier can be downloaded from the Appstore.

This app was created using Android Studio. A version for iOS is under development.

Source code

Developed by

  • Maria Becker
  • Erik Koenen
  • Kathrin Konkol
  • Maike Orlikowski

cdv_logo

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Altpapier

Einleitung

Lesen Sie Nachrichten von vor 100 Jahren. Mit dieser App können Sie zufällig ausgewählte Zeitungsartikel von Vor-Vorgestern entdecken. Finden Sie Ihre Favoriten – schräge Anekdoten, alte Kontaktanzeigen oder Lokalnachrichten.

Die App Altpapier bringt spannende und kuriose Zeitungsmeldungen vom Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts auf die Smartphones. Die App greift dabei auf digitalisierte historische Zeitungen der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin zu und macht sie in Form einer modernen News-App zugänglich. Die App bietet verschiedene Feeds an; jeder Einzelartikel wird mit dem Datum, dem Titel der Zeitung, der Überschrift und der eigentlichen Meldung angezeigt.

Diese App ist im Rahmen der Veranstaltung Coding Da Vinci Berlin 2017 entstanden. Ziel der Anwendung ist es, digitalisierte historische Zeitungsartikel für Nutzer leicht zugänglich zu machen. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin wurden archivierte Zeitungsartikel in eine Android-App integriert.

Links

Altpapier ist unter oben stehendem Link im Appstore zu finden.

Die Anwendung wurde mit Android Studio entwickelt. Eine Version für iOS ist in Bearbeitung.

Source code

Entwickelt von

  • Maria Becker
  • Erik Koenen
  • Kathrin Konkol
  • Maike Orlikowski

cdv_logo

0 Kommentare

Dein Kommentar

An Diskussion beteiligen?
Hinterlasse uns Deinen Kommentar!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.